
 

Defensive Shots: 

8-Ball and 9-Ball 

  

  

 Over the years, there have been many questions and misinterpretations concerning the 

Defensive Shots block on the Scoresheet.  Marking Defensive Shots both consistently and 

correctly ensures the effectiveness of The Equalizer® scoring and handicap system, so it’s very 

important! 

 The failure to correctly mark Defensive Shots when scoring matches is an irregularity.  

Penalties may be imposed by Local Management, Handicap Advisory Committee, and/or the 

American Poolplayers Association (APA), on teams or players who are not conscientious of the 

issue.  

 Some players do not have a clear understanding of what constitutes a Defensive Shot.  A 

Defensive Shot (also called a Safety) is a shot where there is no INTENT to pocket a ball.  INTENT 

is the key word and certainly leaves room for judgment.  This is why both teams have 

scoresheets.  It isn’t necessary for both scoresheets to agree on the number of Defensive Shots.  

If your player did not intend to pocket a ball, mark a Defensive Shot.   

NOTE: An inning consists of one turn for each player, even if it’s a Defensive Shot. 

Here are some typical situations that are considered Defensive Shots: 

• A player does not have what he feels is a makeable shot and decides to leave his 

opponent in a difficult situation rather than attempt a bad shot. 

• A player shoots one of his object balls softly up near a corner to block his opponent, 

therefore not intending to make the ball. 

• A player is well ahead in a game or match and decides to purposely miss a few shots.  This 

is unethical and is a form of cheating (also called sandbagging) which could disqualify a 

player or team.  The way to prevent sandbagging is to mark these Defensive Shots.  If 

every member did so, no one would bother to sandbag.  It would be pointless. 

Here are some examples that are NOT Defensive Shots: 

• A beginner/weak player misses shots while trying to make them. 

• A player is left with a virtually impossible shot but does the best he can to try to make it 

anyway. 

• A player is left “hooked” (or “snookered”), hidden in such a manner that he is unable to 

shoot directly at one of his object balls.  He/she “kicks” as best they can, but doesn’t 

make contact with one of his/her balls.  The scorekeeper must then decide the player’s 

INTENT.  Did he/she shoot hard enough to make the ball if he/she had made contact, 

(which could NOT be considered a Defensive Shot) or did he/she shoot just hard enough 

to get the ball to go to a rail to avoid giving up ball-in-hand (which IS a Defensive Shot)?  

This is a judgement call. 

Whether or not the object ball goes in the pocket should not be the deciding factor.  Whether or 

not the player INTENDED to pass his turn to the other player on purpose is the deciding factor.  

Missing on purpose can be ethical or unethical, but that is not the issue.  IF, IN THE 

SCOREKEEPER’S OPINION, A PLAYER DID NOT INTEND TO POCKET A BALL, MARK IT AS A 

DEFENSIVE SHOT. 

 

 


